top of page
  • Writer's pictureTravis VanderMeiden

Cabrera’s Career Nearing an End?

Wednesday morning the slugger appeared on ESPN and was asked how much longer he thinks he will play in which the 11x All Star, 2x MVP and Triple Crown winner responded “Two more years, thats it. My right knee is really bad, I need to take care of this in the offseason and prepare myself for next season. I say two more years. I think that's enough. I will be happy with 20 years in the big leagues if I can make it. Thank God for giving me this opportunity. Two more years and I'm done.” After the 2023 season there is an option on his contract that he will likely not take and retire.

 

Cabrera has said over and over again he wants to win a championship in Detroit, he has been very close throughout his tenure here but never got the job done. The Tigers are nearing the end of the rebuild with Riley Greene and Spencer Torkelson flying through the Minors and making a case to make their Debuts next season. The Tigers are very close to contending for the playoffs, hopefully this winter (Chris) Illitch opens up the check book and spends on some big names to go along with out young core of Mize, Manning, Skubal, Baddoo, Greene and Torkelson. and then in 2023, which would presumably be Miguel Cabrera’s farewell tour go all in and try and win it all for the greatest player to ever wear the Old English D, the man who sacrificed his body to bring Detroit a championship. Miggy deserves a ring more than anyone else.




60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page